Right Tools For The Job

The majority of the crafts I make involves cutting. Lots and lots of cutting. It’s really time consuming and it makes large projects very tedious.

A couple of weeks ago I discovered rotary cutters and decided to invest in one. I bought a 29mm Jakar Rotary Cutter for about €6 on ebay but most art shops will have them too.

Image

A rotary cutter looks like a pizza cutter but the blade is extremely sharp. Trust me on that one! The blades can also be easily replaced. It can be used to cut paper, felt, fabric or leather and it saves so much time.

For instance, last night I wanted to build up my stock of felt flowers. Each flower consists of 5 individual petals which are cut individually. I needed nearly 70 flowers (eek!) and it normally takes me about 4 hours to get all the petals cut.

Last night it took an hour! One hour! I could probably have been quicker if I hadn’t been watching TV at the same. When cutting paper I can get through over 10 sheets of standard GSM paper in one go.

This rotary cutter is a lifesaver and I just wish I’d found it sooner!

One comment

  1. BlackCrowCurios · June 15, 2013

    You have a great Blog, pretty and really informative, I enjoyed visiting. Come visit my blog at:
    http://blackcrowcurios.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/folk-art/

Leave a Reply

